What is the importance of 9 days of Navratri?🤔






Navratri is made from combination of two words "nav+ ratri" that means 9 nights. It is a Hindu festival which is celebrated for 9 days in autumn season. This festival is dedicated to Goddess Durga. This festival signifies the victory of good over evil.

In Hindu religion, it is believed that Maa Durga is a symbol of SHAKTI which means ultimate power.

Goddess durga is worshipped by devotees for 9 days and in these 9 days devotees worship 9 forms of Maa Durga. Festival of Navratri begins with Shailputri puja, followed by Brahmacharini, Chandraghanta, Kushmanda, Skandamata, Katayayani , Kalaratri , Mahagauri and Sidhidatri. 

Now let us understand the significance of each day in detail.

Day 1.   Shailputri

"Shail" means "mountain" and "putri" means "daughter" that is, first day Maa Durga is worshipped as Parvati daughter of King of Mountains (Himavan). She is depicted as riding a bull i.e. Nandi, with the trishul in her right hand and a Lotus in her left hand. The colour of this day is orange.

Day 2.   Brahmacharini

In this day maa durga is worship as Maa Sati. She is depicted as holding a  water port in one hand and rosary in another hand. Maa Brahmacharini is considered as a storehouse of knowledge and wisdom. She symbolises bliss and calm. The colour of this day is white.

Day 3.   Chandraghanta

Chandra means moon . Maa Chandraghanta has a half moon on her forehead and is the symbol of serenity like cool breeze in a moonlight. Maa Chandraghanta possesses 10 hands and 3 eyes. Eight of her hands have weapons while remaining two hands are respectively in the mudras of gesture of boon giving and stopping harm. The colour of this day is red.

Day 4. Kushmanda

On day 4 devotees worship maa Kushmanda which is depicted as holding weapons, mala and a rosary in her eight hands. Maa Kushmanda is associated with vegetation on earth.The colour of this day is royal blue.

Day 5.   Skandamata

Maa Sakandmata means mother of Kartikeya. Maa Sakandmata symbolises the strength that means every mother is capable of protecting her child from evil eyes. The colour of this day is yellow.

Day 6.   Katayayani

Maa "Katyayani" stayed in the Ashram of sage Katyayan for penance and hence she was named as "Katyayani". She is rides a lion with 3 eyes and 4 arms. Her left hand has a weapon and the other hand has a lotus. Maa Katayayani is considered as a warrior goddess and she is the most violent forms of Maa Parvati. The colour of this day is green.

Day 7.     Kalaratri

Maa kaalratri is the symbol of Maa Kaali .She is the destroyer of all the evil powers and darkness in one's life. Maa kaali assures her devotees that she will not cause any harm to them. The colour of this day is grey.

Day 8.    Mahagauri

Mahagauri holds a drum and a trident and is often depicted as riding a bull. She is the symbol of intelligence and peace. The colour of this day is purple.

Day 9.    Sidhidatri

This is the last day of Navratri in this day Maa Siddhidatri is worshipped with great enthusiasm. She has four arms and she is the processor of 26 different wishes to her devotees. Her temple is located in Nanda parvat in Himalaya. The colour of this day is peacock green.

Please Login to Comment