The State Emblem of India






The State Emblem of India is not just a shape, but it itself is a book. It was adopted by government of India on 26 January, 1950. 

It reminds us of both Buddha and war. It conveys the message of unity, power and courage. It also tells us that the truth is the supreme Power.

Facts about State Emblem of India-

  • The Ashoka pillar was erected by emperor Ashoka.
  • It has four lions and other animals which are demonstrated on the pillar are horse, bull, elephant and lion.
  • All the Ashoka Pillars were carved by craftsmen using stone from Chunar and Mathura.
  • Height of each pillar is around 40 to 50 feet ,and it weighs up to 50 tons each.
  • National Emblem is a part of all Indian currency and the National Passport of the Republic of India.
  • This entire symbol is engraved on the lotus flower shape. It is built on a large pillar which is called as Lion Capital.
  • This pillar was built near Sarnath to mark the place where Buddha preached first.

Now ,let us understand each part of state Emblem in detail.

Ashoka Chakra-

  • The Ashoka chakra is also seen in the National Flag of India.
  • It has 24 lines.
  • 24 lines in the Ashoka Chakra shows 24 qualities in a man.
  • It is a picture of the Buddhist cycle.
  • Ashok chakra is also called as the Wheel of Duty.

Satyamev Jayate -

  • The motto "Satyamev Jayate" is written at the bottom of the State Emblem.
  • This motto is taken from the Mundaka Upanishad.
  • The meaning of "Satyamev Jayate" is the" truth alone triumphs."

4 lions-

  • There are four lions in the State Emblem but only three of them are visible as one lion hides behind the figure.
  • These all lions are symbol of strength, courage, confidence and Pride.

Horse and Bull-

  • At the bottom of this Emblem there is a horse and Bull-.
  • There is a wheel between horse and Bull-.
  • The pillar has elephant towards the East, Bull towards the west, horse towards the south and lions towards the north.
  • The Bull symbolises the zodiac sign of Buddha that is Taurus.
  • The horse signifies Buddha’s horse which he rode at the time of departing from the citadel.

The National Emblem of India signifies power, peace and goodwill, suggesting kindness and humility.

The National Emblem can be used only by government sectors. Apart from that, to use the national emblem, one must seek the permission with valid reasons. The National Emblem is the official seal of the central and state government. 

Please Login to Comment